I am full of anger at social injustices, and I have spent a lot of time trying to understand them, my place in them, and to figure out my place in changing them. I try to communicate and act in ways that are nonviolent.  Which means not hurting people physically, and avoiding unnecessary emotional hurt too.  I will probably post only a few articles on here, but thanks for stopping by, and do comment if you want to be in touch.

When I say “social injustices”, I mean this: I was born in 1986 and raised in the United States of America. I was taught, not by everyone but by my school and most people around me, that we were a modern society, that we believed in democracy and treating people equally, and that our laws and justice system were as fair as they could get. That, and my acceptance of this, is system justification bias at work: we wish to believe our society is a good one, because we’ve been given a place in it and it is much easier to believe that we’re fulfilling a good purpose by acting properly. So for many terrible incidents we hear of, we would prefer to explain them each as isolated events than to see it as a natural part of an unjust society. We would prefer to look for other causes of harm, other than racism, sexism, homophobia, transphobia, and other biases. (I recommend that link. It is a truly excellent series.)

We know not everyone has the same wealth, and with the Occupy movement, many people are realizing the extent to which the economic system is deeply unfair. But also, racism is not over: even if most people my age deeply believe that racism is wrong, many of us (especially most white people, and I’m white) don’t learn to recognize racism and to work against it. Sexism is not over, either. Homophobia is definitely not over, though any day now, they’re going to start saying it is. Transphobia is so far from over that most people don’t know what it is. As I said, I am full of anger about these things.

Random awesome HTML tip: how to do hover-text.

<abbr title=”will anyone ever notice this hover text?”>hover away!</abbr>

Displays as hover away!

